About the Board

The Board meets as needed or as called by the chairperson or a majority of the members. Depending upon the issues before the Board, the meetings may be held in various locations throughout the State as per the Montana Code Annotated (90-6-301 through 331, MCA).

All meetings are open to the public and are announced on the State of Montana e-Calendar. Public comment on any public matter that is within the jurisdiction of the Board will be allowed at all Board meetings.

The opportunity for public comment will be reflected on the meeting agenda and incorporated into the official minutes of the meeting. Board meetings are held at facilities that are fully accessible to persons with disabilities. Any person needing reasonable accommodations must notify the Hard Rock Mining Impact Board at 406-841-2770 or TDD at 406-841-2702 before the scheduled meeting to allow for arrangements.

2020 Metal Mines License Tax Allocations

The Hard Rock Mining Impact Board has set the following date for an upcoming meeting. 

There are no scheduled meetings at this time, please check back regularly for updated information. 


Previous Hard Rock Mining Impact Board Meetings  

2023 Biennium

September 24, 2021 Minutes, (Coming Soon) Audio and Meeting Binder

July 7, 2021 Minutes, Audio and Meeting Binder

2021 Biennium

May 17, 2021 MinutesAudio and Meeting Binder 

April 19, 2021 Minutes, Audio and Meeting Binder

October 20, 2020 Minutes and Meeting Binder

October 30, 2019 Minutes and Meeting Binder

October 10, 2019 Minutes and Meeting Binder

2019 Biennium

May 31, 2019 Minutes and Meeting Binder

December 10, 2018 Minutes and Meeting Binder

November 15, 2018 Minutes and Meeting Binder

September 11, 2018 Minutes and Meeting Binder

As required by statute, the citizens appointed to the Board are selected using the following criteria: three persons who, at the time of appointment, reside in an area impacted or expected to be impacted by large-scale mineral development; at least two persons from the two districts described in Section 5-1-102, MCA. In making these appointments, the Governor will select a representative of the hard-rock mining industry; a representative of a major financial institution in Montana; a person who, at the time of appointment, is an elected school district trustee; a person who, when appointed, is an elected county commissioner; and a member of the public-at-large.

Montana Appointee Handbook

Mark S. Thompson
Butte, MT  59701
District 1
Qualifications: Impact Area and Representative of the hard-rock mining industry
Term: January 4, 2021 to January 5, 2025

Clint Rech
Harlowton, MT  59036
District 2
Qualifications: Representative of a financial institution
Term: January 4, 2021 to January 5, 2025

Donna von Nieda
Nye, MT  59061
District 1
Qualifications: Impact Area and Elected School District Trustee
Term: February 15, 2019 to January 1, 2023

Ray Sheldon
Huntley, MT  59037
District 2
Qualifications: Public Member
Term: January 4, 2021 to January 5, 2025

Jerry Bennett
Libby, MT  59923
District 1
Qualifications: Impact Area and County Commissioner
Term: January 4, 2021 to January 1, 2023