People3 Montana Ready Communities


Regional Summits

The Montana Ready Communities Initiative will create a Resiliency Framework informed and guided by public input and comment.To do this requires engagement from everyday Montanans and local community leaders.We invite you to participate in making your community more resilient by attending one of the 21 regional summits displayed on the map below.

These Summits will consist of 3-4 hours of guided discussion between community leaders and the public.Through this process, we hope to identify local resilience challenges and brainstorm potential paths to overcoming these challenges.

Please RVSP to any of the summits. 

  • Helena: June 27, 2018, 4 p.m.-6:30 p.m. | Lewis & Clark Library - 120 S Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601
  • Billings: July 10, 2018 from 12 p.m.- 2:30 p.m. | Billings Public Library - 510 North 28th Street, Billings, Montana

If you are unable to make it to any of the listed summits, we encourage you to participate in MRCI by taking our Statewide Resilience Survey.

Population Centers

These 9 communities represent large population centers within the states seven climate divisions.

Tribal Communities

MRCI recognizes the unique culture and political importance of tribal communities within our state.To respect the diverse viewpoints both between and within the state’s eight tribal nations, MRCI will be visiting each tribal headquarters individually to engage a variety of local stakeholders and assess each community’s varied needs.

MID-URN Communities

In 2015, the State of Montana participated in the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development’s National Disaster Resilience Competition (NDRC), a competitive grant process that awarded nearly $1 billion to states and communities for innovative projects that addressed natural disaster mitigation, response, and recovery.Through the NDRC grant process, the State identified eight sub-county areas that meet the Most Impacted and Distressed Criteria and have an eligible amount of Unmet Recovery Need (MID-URN) to focus on for funding.While Montana ultimately did not receive HUD funding, MRCI aims to build off the progress made during the NDRC process by directly engaging communities identified as MID-URN during this process, to help make these communities more resilient.

Climate Divisions

Climate Divisions

Montana’s geography, and in turn its climate, varies across the vast expanse of the state.To overcome the challenges involved in assessing long-term climate trends over such a large area, MRCI employs a classification system based on state-wide geographical climate divisions, seen below. The seven divisions are a subset of 344 national climate divisions developed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).These divisions were chosen because they base their boundaries on a combination of political, climatic, agricultural and watershed systems and are used in creating the 2017 Montana Climate Assessment (MCA). Data from the MCA will be used to inform content and discussion within theResiliency Framework. More information on the Montana Climate Assessment can be found here.

301 S PARK AVENUE | PO BOX 200523 | HELENA, MT 59620-0523 | P: 406.841.2770 | F: 406.841.2771 | TDD: 406.841.2702