Skip Navigation Links Home » Montana Coal Board Grant Program

Montana Coal Board

Coal Board Background  

  • The Coal Board, which is a seven-member board, was created in 1975 by the Legislature through Senate Bill 87 and the adoption of the Coal Severance Tax. 

  • The Coal Board awards grants pursuant to 90-6-207, MCA, which provides the priorities for grants to counties, communities, school districts, or other governmental units that has had or expects to have as a result of the impact of coal development a net increase or decrease in estimated population.

  • The Coal Board is attached to the Montana Department of Commerce for administrative purposes only.


Coal Board Current Activities 


Coal Board Resources: 


Front Row: Dept. of Commerce Director Meg O'Leary; Coal Board Members: Dan Miles; Vice-Chairman Loren Acton; Marcia Brown; Back Row: Ralph Lenhart; Chairman John Williams; CJ Stewart; and Tom Towe.

Contact Information:

Ethan Stapp, Administrative Officer

(406) 841-2785 Fax: (406) 841-2771

Email Coal Board staff at: